Page Header


Radon Zones

Sites located in a Radon Zone-1 (highest level) will require Radon Resistant New Construction Practices, in every building. Rehabilitation projects must meet the Radon Mitigation Standards as required by the Environmental Protection Agency. The following counties are located in Radon Zone -1: Calhoun, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Morgan, Shelby, and Talladega.

View map of Radon Zones in Alabama 

View Radon Resistant New Construction Practices 

View Radon Mitigation Standards

*For Applications Beginning in 2020*

Report the Alabama Department of Public Health radon zone for the county in which the project is located. New Construction projects in all zones will require radon resistant new construction practices in all buildings pursuant to the radon requirements in the most recent version of HUD’s Multifamily Accelerated Processing (MAP) Guide. Radon testing results must be provided for all rehabilitation projects in zones 1 and 2 in accordance with the most recent version of HUD’s MAP Guide.